Wayan takes you through his village. It's like being part of the family. This is Bali off the beaten track - no garbage, beautiful river valley, waterfall, friendly people, kids flying kites. rice paddies.
All tour guides have a challenge - how to stay interested in your tour when you have done it 500 times. This is going to be a challenge for Wayan.
Visited August 2011

Toronto, Canada

Source: TripAdvisor

We are writing this almost a year after doing a day trek with Wayan - only because we were always to busy and forgot to write - shame on us.
Wayan was an excellent guide, he took us through a family compound providing excellent explanations of the architechture, traditions and functions of the compound. Introduced us to a local Braham and engaged in traditional blessing ceremony. A few great walks through the rice paddies with excellent explanations of irrigation systems and plant life - Wayan really knows what he is talking about not just telling stories for the sake of a tourist.
Highly recommend small group/couple tours directly with him - Thanks Pak Wayan!!!!
Visited October 2010

Jakarta

Source: TripAdvisor

Wonderful walk. My mother and I tooknthis walk on our last day in Bali. What a way to finish. Great photo opportunities and we learnt so many interesting thing. A very nice lunch and a short side trip to a coffee plantation. Couldn't ask for more.

Source: TripAdvisor

From the fitst to the last minute we enjoyed this trip. Wayan and his team showed us the other Bali, away from tourists. Friendly guide, plenty of information, great sites, (even family life in compounds) professional and safe. We will recommend this tour to all our friends. Thank you!

Source: TripAdvisor

All the comments on Tripadvisor are so true about this pleasant half days walk. Wayan is a wonderful guide, good english and could answer all my questions.
Visited June 2011

Brisbane, Australia

Source: TripAdvisor

After reading the fab reviews on trip advisor we contacted Wayan and did the 3 hour walk, which turned into 4 with lunch. The morning started with a visit to Wayan's village and a look inside his parents compound, followed by a blessing from a Brahmin. A truly great start to the day. We then walked through the countryside and along paddy fields. The scenery is stunning We were lucky to be there during the Galungan festival, when the streets are lined with penjors made by the locals, a tall, curved bamboo pole decorated with palm leaves, rice, coconuts etc, so beautiful. Wayan is informative, helpful and quite rightly proud of this lovely country. I would highly recommend this walk for a true look at the real Bali.
Visited July 2011

expat in asia

Source: TripAdvisor

My wife and i visited Ubud with our two grown children, 22 and 26 in May/June 2011. We found Wayan and his walking tours on TripAdvisor before we left home. All the accolades and 5 star reviews are right on target! We did an afternoon walking tour of a real Balinese village with rice paddies, temples, houses and people. You just can't appreciate any of these from the window of a van. I could go on and on about the experience but others have done so quite eloquently.
I suspect that if we come back to Bali in 10-20 years this type of cooperative community, with everyone sharing and respectful of one another, will not be around. So now is time to see Bali.

Visited May 2011

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/02/b0/ee/56/sanantoniotexas.jpg
SanAntonioTexas
San Antonio, Texas

Source: TripAdvisor

Great walking tour. Very reasonably priced, the tour Wayan was fantastic. Very friendly, was very proud of his homeland and loved answering all our questions. A car met us with cold water and towels halfway through - and it was a very easy pace of walk which meant you could focus on the surroundings. It was a very small group with personalised attention - not at all like being part of a coach tour. Gave a real insight into how the locals live. Well worth doing.
Visited May 2011

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/01/2e/70/a6/avatar077.jpg
franwellington
Wellington, New Zealand

Source: TripAdvisor

After coming across this tour on TripAdvisor and reading the reviews I thought it would be a great way to see Ubud while in Bali. I contacted Wayan (the owner and tour guide) several times as I had many questions. Biggest concerns were that we were saying in Seminyak and that I had a 14 month. He offered us return transportation (for a fee) and told us that the baby would not be a problem. He even offered to arrange a baby sitter to help us out so that my husband and I could fully enjoy the tour. For any of you with a small child who may think twice due to this being a walking tour DON'T! Opt for the helper and go and enjoy yourself!

Wayan does a great job of showing you the 'real' Ubud. The scenery is amazing and Wayan is with you every step of the way giving you commentary and answering any questions that you may have. Even though the tour is listed as a 3 hour walking tour (we went on the morning tour) the time flies! There are plenty of rest stops along the way if you need them and relaxation time during the visit to the agrowisata and the lunch spot. Both of which are wonderful as well!

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who likes to get out and not only see everyday life in the locations you are visiting but really get to know the culture as well. This was an amazing tour and Wayan and his team (Eka our helper for my daughter and Nyoman our driver) are very kind and helpful. This isn't a tour that will disappoint!
Visited June 2011

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/01/2e/70/76/avatar058.jpg
eramie
Brisbane, Australia

Source: TripAdvisor

This was a fantastic tour we loved it. Wayan was great and it was a very personal service. So nice to be just a few people not a huge bus tour.
Visited June 2011

 http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/01/2e/70/9b/avatar062.jpg
Fitzwitz
Sydney, Australia

Source: TripAdvisor